LAVA is a feminist acrobatic dance company known for awe-inspiring feats that push the boundaries of dance, gravity and gender expectations. Our choreographic language incorporates acrobatics, trapeze, social dance, sports, contact improv and other contemporary forms, and the work we create explores geologic and anthropological phenomena as metaphors for human relationships and expression. Our credo is this: There is no right side up. We are all connected through movement.

Since our debut in 1998 we have created 16 evening-length works, garnering an Obie, a Bessie and national coverage ranging from Newsweek and Ms. Magazine to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. Proudly based in Brooklyn since before it was cool, we have performed at City Center, The New Victory, BAM Fisher Center, Central Park Summerstage, The Kitchen and Dixon Place. Outside NYC, LAVA has been seen at MASS MoCA, Jacob’s Pillow, The Walker, The Annenberg, Michigan Womyn’s Festival and the Tasmanian Circus Festival among others.  

From 2000-seat outdoor amphitheaters to 50-seat local community centers, each LAVA performance seeks to give audiences a vicarious delight in movement and a real-time experience of community that welcomes all identities with respect. Filled with delight, surprise, inspiration and wit, LAVA performances invite their audience to join with us in creating a 21st century vision of feminist dance.


Sarah East Johnson - Artistic Director

Molly Chanoff, Lollo Romanski, Sarah Dey Hirshan, Hilary Melcher Chapman, Efe Alibo, Mieke D, Lex Garnett


Sylvia Johnson, George Gilpin, Carol Ostrow, Lisa Jean Moore, Weishin Huang


DJ Tikka Masala, Alison May, Jocelyn Davis, Claudia Brown, Amy Stillman, Rachel Colbert, Glenn Hall, Mamie Minch, Ashley Brockington, Pat Oleszko, Daryll John, Nacona


LAVA is a proud recipient of public funds from Brooklyn Arts Council and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and has also received support from The Jerome Foundation, the New York State Council for the Arts, Bloomberg LP, The Puffin Foundation, The Heathcote Foundation, The Greater Houston Community Foundation, Bossak Heilbron Charitable Trust, Joyce Mertz Gilmore Foundation, and hundreds of individuals.